5 Things I Learned While Going to School

Posted: September 19, 2013 by Nerdy Woman in Being Productive
Tags: , , , , , ,

Finally immerging from a whirlwind formal educational adventure – 43 units in 3 semesters – to complete Associates’ degrees started many, many years ago, I’ve been thinking about what I learned apart from the content of the courses…

  1. You’re never too old to learn. In fact, I found that, because of life experiences, the theories and principles were easier to grasp. I was able to recall situations in which I had performed tasks that gave substance to ideas.
  2. You’re not alone. When I went to school in the 80s, it seemed like a cookie-cutter experience in which administrative bureaucracy prevented anyone who didn’t fit into the mold of “student” (18, living with parents, completely flexible schedule) from actually getting through the coursework. School is not like that anymore. In the past three semesters, I was able to take all my classes online, working around whatever else was going on in my life, and the administrators and instructors have been helpful and accommodating.
  3. Life experience makes one more resourceful. Had I been 18, I might have tolerated the $1200 price tag for books for the spring semester, but by researching alternative sources, I was able to get that bill down to $390. Which, of course, made me feel like I was smart enough to do this school thing. Additionally, using OneNote while I studied, making it a tactile as well as mental exercise, really helped with retention. I adapted to e-books from which I could copy/paste diagrams/tables/illustrations into OneNote. Technology is a wonderful thing.
  4. Always think outside the box. Being the Nerdy Woman, I set up a matrix in Excel, indicating which courses were available (not every course is offered every semester) to complete various majors. Within the accounting, business, and management fields, there was some overlap. So by taking just one or two more courses, I could increase the breadth of my knowledge and get an additional degree. Or two. Or three. I graduated with four – Accounting, Business, Management, and Management/Supervision.
  5. Don’t think you can’t afford to go to school. I really should have checked into financial aid when Nerdy Girl was younger. I didn’t realize that living on one income, with a minor child at home, I was able to get tuition waivers and grants for books.

Apart from formal education, there are lots of online learning resources that are FREE or very affordable. So why aren’t you learning something new today?

Comments
  1. Very informative! Thank you for sharing your tips and tricks. You have been a tremendous help to me and I am eternally grateful for having met you. Your one in a million nerdy woman 🙂

  2. oldpama1 says:

    Congrats! That’s quite an accomplishment.

Comments welcome!

