The Nerdy Woman as Entrepreneur

Posted: October 23, 2012 by Nerdy Woman in Entrepreneurial Nerd
Tags: , , , , , ,

en·tre·pre·neur

/ˌɑntrəprəˈnɜr, -ˈnʊər; Fr. ɑ̃trəprəˈnœr/ [ahn-truh-pruh-nur, -noor; Fr. ahn-truh-pruh-nœr], plural en·tre·pre·neurs /-ˈnɜrz, -ˈnʊərz; Fr. -ˈnœr/ [-nurz, -noorz; Fr. -nœr], verb noun

1. a person who organizes and manages any enterprise, especially a business, usually with considerable initiative and risk.

2. an employer of productive labor; contractor.


I’ve been taking college classes online. Accounting. Business. Marketing. I’ve still much to learn, but I want to start a business. Rephrase. I want to see my ideas come to life. I’m not talking about a small retail shop or a one-person service business. I’m talking manufacturing. Probably under contract at first, then maybe someday in our own facility.

For now, I’m going to start putting together a business plan, do some marketing research (a lot of research, actually) and ferret out every possible source for financing this endeavor. I’m writing about this because, if you have an idea too, I’d like to invite you to join me. I’ll be posting links to resources and information I discover, and hope to find a few kindred spirits along the way so that we may encourage one another.

I’ll confess, part of my motivation is family. The past few years have been lean for us and we’ve all exhausted retirement funds trying to get by. Also, I have a daughter, a nephew, and a brother who are brilliant and talented and like most geniuses, don’t fit well in a world that doesn’t understand the personality quirks of extreme intelligence. So I want to build a business where genius can be celebrated.

Come along. Subscribe to my blog. Hold my feet to the fire. I won’t let weeks go by without working toward this goal and I’ll write about it here. This will be fun!

Comments welcome!

